Buff Puff Puff

For Books and Buff Stuff.

Abuja: My Visit to Arts and Craft Village

2 Comments

Hello Guys! Hope you’re having an amazing weekend? Well, i am!
So last week, i went to the Arts and Craft village in Abuja for a photoshoot. You know, that place opposite silverbird you always see with huts and fine things and say you’ll visit but have never gotten to go? Yeah. I’ve lived here all my life but never gone. So, I was super excited when i heard that was the location and as it turns out, Zimmani and I were the first ones there.

image

Madam boss

Off Guard! I didn’t pose for this honestly. Amarachi (IG:@mikazzi) took the shot.

I decided to do a photo journal of my time at the place. I took many of the pictures and even surprised Zimmani with my skills *wink*
Let’s begin. πŸ˜€
First off, each hut had it’s own unique design on the windows and door posts. Even the doors were art works.

image

This was the first shop we entered. Have you heard that saying, “don’t buy from the first shop you enter”? Well, i took that saying and chucked it to the wind. I got nice stuff from here mehn, even Zimanie did too.

image

image

Don’t mind my weirdly positioned legs joor.
There were so many things in this shop; ranging from jewelries to shoes to bags and carpets. They even had cushion covers for those morrocan style cushions i love so much. The jewelries could be called affordable, that’s if you know how to bargain well with the mallams.

image

Here’s the corner for the slippers and decorations. The colorful boxes are used as jewelry boxes. The mallam here seemed very learned (i can’t form political correctness here) and even spoke Korean (or whatever he spoke to the Asian man. It was sha not hausa). I now saw that black box with the orange stripes and thought it was a router, i was already planning to tell the mallam to check my blog post. It turned out to be star times decoder.

image

image

There were so many bags and purses, but this one particularly caught my eye. The flap was made from the head of a small alligator and it seemed so real! If you look at the second picture closely, you’ll see the teeth are still intact. I touched it o LOL.
We soon left the shop after that.

image

Cushions! Ooh and Alligators too! I and Zimmani had an argument on whether or not these were real. The mallam that sold this was on Zimmani’s side of course. I just thought it’s made out of leather or something. I had to do a lot of touching and feeling before i even said, “it seems real”.

image

These sculptures are beautiful and well crafted but very expensive. The stools are light and foldable but the speed i used to exit the place, when i heard the price for one, cannot be explained.

image

Beautifully and Preciously made. As i have pointed out (in my very weird way), these are precious stones. Honestly, they looked like regular stones to me but i took a shot of it anyway.

image

Still on the precious stones, Zimmani was really into them(Why? I don’t know) he started asking the man if he sold diamonds too (Zimmani o!)

image

Random shot: Flamingo
I don’t exactly know what to call this shop but they had caricatures of different animals. Along with other sculptures.

image

This Rhino was strangely beautiful. I could really see myself buying this and hanging on my room door to scare people at night LMAO!

image

“The many faced god” i call it. Reminds me of the art in mueseums abroad. They stole it from us anyway.

image

Random art sculptures and art. This was where i spotted those sexy girls and ran to them. No homo.

image

Melanin always goes with white.

image

This was the nicest mallam i met. He took time to explain things to us and joked around with us. Zimmani was asking about the pipe (He looked really cool so i took a shot lol).

image

Still in the nice mallam’s shop.
Zimmani said he wanted to buy this for his ‘babe’ but i refused. Well, as pretty as they are, they aren’t my style.

image

Where do you think this map was made?
They just had to colour their own LOL.

image

At the arts and craft village, DASHIKI is their forte. There were so many shops with it and so many stlyes. Some of them are sown right on the grounds. I even saw a silk halter-neck flowy dress made with Dashiki pattern. Pretty and colorful. The price of Dashiki here is pretty constant all through the grounds but i feel you can get a good bargain if you really try. I didn’t push because i didn’t really want to buy.

image

He could be the next Olajumoke, who knows?

image

I don’t know what was going through my mind when i took this shot but now it reminds me of a scene from August rush, about those wind chimes. It’s a beautiful shot regardless.

image

“Don’t take pictures of the art!” is what you hear when you go to art galleries. You don’t hear that here.
I’ve found that I’ve written amazing short stories from staring at art or pictures and writing down what vibes i get drom the pictures. I think it’s a good way to overcome writer’s block.

image

This is my favorite one! What vibes are you getting from this one? Drop a comment for me about it πŸ˜€

image

The theater where people come at night and watch drama, plays or movies. It seemed abandoned and reminded of me of how things that held so much color could fade away in an instant. It’ll be bubbling and colorful at night and then at dawn, deserted and dry in an eye’s twitch.

image

Final shot. Umunna kwenu!
Well, that’s a wrap. After we toured the grounds we started our photoshoot. Let me leave some more pictures, enjoy!

image

Outfits by Freddy nation (IG: @_freddynation)
Photos by Ordinary and Art (IG: @ordinaryandart)

image

image

image

image

image

Hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did? Watch this space for more visits and adventures!

Don’t forget to like, comment and subscribe. Love you puff puffs!

Author: Adapuffpuff

I blog about Books and Buff Stuff.

2 thoughts on “Abuja: My Visit to Arts and Craft Village

  1. this a fantastically fantastic post of african fantasy πŸ™Œ the art drawings are stunning and will surely stir stories in creative minds. A really nice post!

    Like

Insert witty comment

