Buff Puff Puff

For Books and Buff Stuff.

Talk Talk Tuesday: Reading Styles

5 Comments

Good morning Buff people!

So there’s this recent trend among book-bloggers, where they answer a bunch of questions concerning their reading syles/interests. Well, as the follow-follow that i am, i decided to the same for you guys. HAHA. Did you know, in my mind i have this vast range of audience that reads every single thing i post. Lol, let’s not ruin it.

Anyway, even though i was doing follow-follow, i decided to make it not centered on me but rather on my blog’s audience and on some randomly chosen voracious readers.

For this week’s questions, i got talking with Tony… not Tetuila, i’m afraid. But he’s so awesome, really. Tony is also a fan of literature. He writes too, even though he thinks he’s bad at poetry. You can read more of his work on Temisan’s blog. Without further ado, here we go:

Hey Tony. Do you read a lot?

TONY: Ugh I think I read too much sometimes…I’ll read anything even old TELL magazines. *Tears*

What’s the author you’ve read the most books from?

TONY: its James Hadley Chase, yeah I read so many in junior secondary school but if you had asked me what African author, I’d have said Chinua.

Drink of Choice While Reading?

TONY: Coke is to Tony what Puff Puff is to Ada I could say.

What is a book you started but never finished but want to finish?

TONY: Americanah comes to mind, yup. Definitely, Americanah. (I tried so hard not to judge you haha)

What elements attracts you to a book?

TONY: First is usually the plot, then from there is the title and that usually goes along with the ideology the book carries within it; what the book seeks to teach. Its not the criteria i used while reading JHC though lol.

Which books do you prefer, e-copy or hard copy?

TONY: I PREFER hard copy though e-books are more convenient… but hard copies ugh ❤ From my view they (are) like good women who smell nice and feel great to hold in one’s hands. Elegant and majestic. I treat my hard copy books like gems and I can be very selfish with them too.

What book are you currently reading?

 TONY: I’m reading about four books currently… Bad habit of mine. One is by Ben Okri. Two actually Famished Road & An African Elegy.

Worst Bookish Habit?

TONY: (Me: so, let’s say, reading way too many books at the same time) LOL yes, I’ve once had 7 books open at the same time smh.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read?

TONY: Never reading Harlequin/Silhouette/Mills & Boons again. Fantasy books don’t appeal much too… Though Nnedi Okorafor is one of my fave authors (To which i gushed about Nnedi for a while).

What book did you badly judge by its cover and ended up loving?

TONY: Definitely Harry Potter- the 6th book I think, I started the series with it and only because someone got me the hardback. I was so reluctant to open it… Oh and there’s this book I finished a month ago – MONSTRUM.

Which book character have you felt the most kin and can relate a lot to?

TONY: Jaja comes to mind- Kambili’s brother (Purple Hibiscus). Ezeulu in Arrow of God as well… Jaja and Ezeulu yup.

How long have you stayed without reading a book?

TONY: Like a year! When I first got into Uni and had to adjust lifestyle and all that…

ZZZ-snatcher book- last book that kept you up WAY late?

TONY: Fall Of Light by Steven Eriksen

Your latest book purchase?

TONY: That would be Mariama Ba’s So Long A Letter. I lost the copy I had before so I got a new one. Actually lent it to my sister and she lost it… (painful dreadful!)

What book or books have made you cry?

TONY: Quite a few… There Was a Country,Why We Struck by one of Nigeria’s coup plotters-his name is so long and Yoruba I can’t remember it. Half of a yellow sun moved me to tears as well bruh (me, bruh? toh) Then when I was a kid, Animal Farm made me cry. Hated what happened to snowball… nah Animal Farm had me crying profusely.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books?

TONY: My favorite question Ada! In no particular order though: Arrow Of God by Chinua Achebe, Fist of God by Frederick Forsythe, 100 Days of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez. (Very rich list!)

 

teal

I had loads of fun compiling the questions and hunting down people to answer them. Getting to bond with these people has been awesome really because you get to meet people who have so much in common with you! There are loads of more interviews coming up, and with people that i’m so excited about!

pink2

If you want to know what inspired this post, please you need to ask my Research Methodology professor why exactly we’re studying such a course in 500 level. I had to put the knowledge to good use.

BTW, did you guys notice my blog got a makeover? My roommate thinks it’s horrible but i think i’m falling in love with it the way you fall asleep; slowly, then all at once (haha! If you recognize this quote then you are a true kindred spirit!)

Do leave a comment telling me what you think.

Author: Adapuffpuff

I blog about Books and Buff Stuff.

5 thoughts on “Talk Talk Tuesday: Reading Styles

  1. I recognize the quote “i’m falling in love with it the way you fall asleep; slowly, then all at once” from ‘The Fact in Our Stars’ Good one Ada

    Liked by 1 person

Insert witty comment

